Where is Tibet located on a map?

Tibet is located to the south-west of China, also bordering India, Nepal, Burma and Bhutan.

Tibet’s three original provinces are U-Tsang, Kham and Amdo. The people in these regions all consider themselves Tibetan, although each has a strong identity and different dialects of Tibetan are used.

Under China’s occupation, Tibet has been divided up, renamed and incorporated into Chinese provinces, with little reference to the original borders between Tibet's provinces.

When China refers to Tibet, it means the Tibet Autonomous Region or TAR, which includes only U-Tsang and part of Kham.

The remainder of Kham was divided between Sichuan and Yunnan Chinese provinces. Amdo was divided between Gansu, Sichuan and Qinghai provinces.

The historical territory of Tibet would make it the world's 10th largest nation by geographical area.

Articles about the Topic Where is Tibet located on map of world

Cheap & Effective Advertising
E-mail: editor@thetibetpost.com